Book Reviews · Legal Thriller · Mystery · Suspense

Miracle Creek by Angie Kim – Book Review

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve more than likely heard of Miracle Creek, the recent publication that has taken bookstagram by storm. Or you may remember it from 19 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2019 Either way, I’ve had a copy on my shelf for a while, but for some reason took a while to pick it up. Never have I ever regretted something more. Seriously, don’t make the same mistake as me. START. READING. NOW.

Synopsis

A literary courtroom drama about a Korean immigrant family and a young, single mother accused of murdering her eight-year-old autistic son

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn’t even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

In the small town of Miracle Creek, Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine—a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic “dives” with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos’ small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night—trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges—as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim’s Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author’s own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life “submarine” patient. An addictive debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng, Miracle Creek is both a twisty page-turner and a deeply moving story about the way inconsequential lies and secrets can add up—with tragic consequences.

My thoughts

As I’m sitting here, basking in the aftermath of this book, I honestly don’t have the words to describe how absolutely incredible it is. I genuinely felt an ache in my heart when I came to the final page, knowing that the characters and stories that have captivated me for the past week have come to an end.

When I first read the synopsis, I knew it was destined to be special, but I’ll be totally honest: legal mystery/suspense is usually not my glass of Merlot. But Angie Kim gets it… which is why Miracle Creek has officially become my new go-to for forcing everyone in my immediate surroundings to read.

I loved how the story was told: through the eyes of the individuals that were directly involved in the situation. Ordinarily, changing POVs can be a bit difficult to keep up with, especially when the story is complex. Each character had their own distinct voice that just made me feel. I could feel the anguish of the characters in the aftermath of the tragedy. I could feel their secrets tearing them apart inside. I could feel the sheer frustration any time one of the lawyers made an over-exaggerated facial expression to make a point.

Basically, Angie Kim: you’ve officially added to my elusive “automatic pre-order when I see a new book is available” list. My book shelf thanks you… my bank account, not so much 😉 Thank you so much to the publisher and Netgalley for providing my eARC. It’s truly my privilege to share my honest thoughts and opinions.

Xx,

Leave a Reply