Bookish Reviews · TBR posts · Things book lovers like · Young Adult

Read Before You Watch!

Any bibliophile knows that the book is almost always better than the movie. I say almost because Harry Potter set the standard preeeeetty high with the amazing performance and production value. As a general rule, one must ALWAYS (and there’s no almost here) read the book before seeing the movie..how else will you be able to argue with the script, annoying every non-reader around you?

Because apparently we enjoy drowning ourselves and others in books, here’s a list to read BEFORE you watch the flick! It’s better this way, you know it.

EVERYDAY by David Levithan

13262783Goodreads blurb: Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

 

I read Every Day a few years ago and was really intrigued by the premise. I rated it 4 stars on Goodreads!

MV5BZTQ0OWM4MTItNmY4NC00ZDMyLTkxZWYtNTU5ZGY4NjBlNWM3XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyODI1MzgzNjM@__V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_

Every Day will be in theaters on February 23, 2018.

RED SPARROW by Jason Matthews

Red-Sparrow-Jason-MatthewsGoodreads blurb: In today’s Russia, dominated by Prime Minister Vladimir Putin, state intelligence officer Dominika Egorova struggles to survive in the cast-iron bureaucracy of post-Soviet intelligence. Drafted against her will to become a “Sparrow,” a trained seductress in the service, Dominika is assigned to operate against Nathaniel Nash, a first-tour CIA officer who handles the CIA’s most sensitive penetration of Russian intelligence. The two young intelligence officers, trained in their respective spy schools, collide in a charged atmosphere of tradecraft, deception, and inevitably, a forbidden spiral of carnal attraction that threatens their careers and the security of America’s valuable mole in Moscow. Seeking revenge against her soulless masters, Dominika begins a fatal double life, recruited by the CIA to ferret out a high-level traitor in Washington; hunt down a Russian illegal buried deep in the U.S. military and, against all odds, to return to Moscow as the new-generation penetration of Putin’s intelligence service. Dominika and Nathaniel’s impossible love affair and twisted spy game come to a deadly conclusion in the shocking climax of this electrifying, up-to-the minute spy thriller.

MV5BMTA3MDkxOTc4NDdeQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU4MDAxNzgyNTQz__V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_ Red Sparrow will be in theaters in March 2, 2018.

A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L’Engle

Wrinkle-Time-Madeleine-LEngleGoodreads blurb: It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

“Wild nights are my glory,” the unearthly stranger told them. “I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract”.

Meg’s father had been experimenting with this fifth dimension of time travel when he mysteriously disappeared. Now the time has come for Meg, her friend Calvin, and Charles Wallace to rescue him. But can they outwit the forces of evil they will encounter on their heart-stopping journey through space?

wrinkle_in_time_xlg

 A Wrinkle In Time will be in theaters March 9, 2018.

SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA

by Becky Albertelli

Simon-vs-Homo-Sapiens-Agenda-Becky-AlbertelliGoodreads blurb: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

 MV5BZTVkOWJkOTYtM2FlZS00YTBlLWE2YTYtODEyZWJjMTZkM2IzXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTQ4NzkzOTA@__V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_
Love, Simon will be in theators March 16, 2018.

READY PLAYER ONE by Ernest Cline

Ready-Player-One-Ernest-ClineGoodreads blurb: In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.

 

MV5BODcxNjI4MzY2MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTE0NzUzNDM@__V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_

 Ready Player One will be in theaters March 30, 2018.

WHERE’D YOU GO BERNADETTE by Maria Semple

Whered-You-Go-Bernadette-Maria-SempleGoodreads blurb: A compulsively readable and touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter’s role in an absurd world.

Bernadette Fox is notorious. To her Microsoft-guru husband, she’s a fearlessly opinionated partner; to fellow private-school mothers in Seattle, she’s a disgrace; to design mavens, she’s a revolutionary architect, and to 15-year-old Bee, she is a best friend and, simply, Mom.

Then Bernadette disappears. It began when Bee aced her report card and claimed her promised reward: a family trip to Antarctica. But Bernadette’s intensifying allergy to Seattle – and people in general – has made her so agoraphobic that a virtual assistant in India now runs her most basic errands. A trip to the end of the earth is problematic.

To find her mother, Bee compiles email messages, official documents, secret correspondence – creating a compulsively readable and touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter’s role in an absurd world.

 

I rated this one 5 stars on GoodReads..which is weird because looking back, I don’t particularly remember much I liked about it. I also read it almost 3 years ago and my tastes have probably changed more than I realize.

whered-you-go-bernadette-movie

Where’d You Go, Bernadette will be in theaters May 11, 2018.

CRAZY RICH ASIANS by Kevin Kwan

Crazy-Rich-Asians-Kevin-KwanGoodreads blurb: Crazy Rich Asians is the outrageously funny debut novel about three super-rich, pedigreed Chinese families and the gossip, backbiting, and scheming that occurs when the heir to one of the most massive fortunes in Asia brings home his ABC (American-born Chinese) girlfriend to the wedding of the season.
When Rachel Chu agrees to spend the summer in Singapore with her boyfriend, Nicholas Young, she envisions a humble family home, long drives to explore the island, and quality time with the man she might one day marry. What she doesn’t know is that Nick’s family home happens to look like a palace, that she’ll ride in more private planes than cars, and that with one of Asia’s most eligible bachelors on her arm, Rachel might as well have a target on her back. Initiated into a world of dynastic splendor beyond imagination, Rachel meets Astrid, the It Girl of Singapore society; Eddie, whose family practically lives in the pages of the Hong Kong socialite magazines; and Eleanor, Nick’s formidable mother, a woman who has very strong feelings about who her son should–and should not–marry. Uproarious, addictive, and filled with jaw-dropping opulence,
Crazy Rich Asians is an insider’s look at the Asian JetSet; a perfect depiction of the clash between old money and new money; between Overseas Chinese and Mainland Chinese; and a fabulous novel about what it means to be young, in love, and gloriously, crazily rich.

 

I read the first two novels in this series in 2014 and still have to get to the third, which was released late last year. I rated Crazy Rich Asians 4 stars on GoodReads. The second novel in the series, China Rich Girlfriend, I rated 5 stars! I think this movie will be hilarious and I’m really excited about it!

 

untitled

Crazy Rich Asians will be in theaters August 17, 2018.

 

TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE by Jenny Han

15749186Goodreads blurb: What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once?

Sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

 

 

Currently, there is no release date set for To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

I have at least 3 books on this list that I to read before I can see the movies and after ‘t watching the trailers, I better work on my speed reading! Are there any book adaptations that you’re excited about that I missed?! Let me know!
k, bye!
7C585C84-FAF2-4327-AD71-A94EF4BBA941

4 thoughts on “Read Before You Watch!

    1. Omg One Day!!! That ending made me so mad!! I don’t specifically remember how Every Day ends either but there’s a sequel I haven’t read yet. I think I’d remember if it was as bad as One Day 😆

      1. 😬 I don’t remember either! I read it so long ago but either way I’m seeing that movie!!

Leave a Reply